top of page

Black Media Honors empowers media trailblazers during annual award ceremony!

Written: Ellori White

Serving as a powerful outlet for African American media and entertainment, Black Media Honors returned this year to celebrate and honor those blazing a trail in journalism, public relations, television and radio, culture focused broadcast networks and programs, and business.

The official weekend took place at Luxe Loft Conference Center in Tucker, GA and kicked off on Saturday, April 22nd, with the ‘Behind the Press Consortium,’ featuring panels such as the Approach to Diverse Media with Detavio Samuels, CEO of Revolt TV and Black Enterprise Senior VP, Alfred Edmond, the HBCU Roundtable, and MedTech moderated by actress and host Ellori Nicole.

On Sunday, the star-studded ceremony began with a performance from Dayvsnn, best known for The Voice before hosts Brely Evans, award winning actress and author, and actor and influencer Rob Malloy, took the stage to recognize this year’s honorees. On the importance of this special night Breyl said, “I don’t know how important it is, it is a must!” She continued, “we have to celebrate ourselves and also receive the honor in the same way the world receives an Oscar. We have to big our own selves up, and realize it is amazing to be honored by your own. That means we're proud of you, we look up to you, that means you are giving our young ones a pathway, and it just means so much to the culture, our ancestors, and moving forward.”

On honoring black excellence, founder and CEO of Black Media Honors Stephanie Davis says her goal is to use this platform to raise voices that are not always heard. “To honor these individuals is an honor for me because I get to experience the things they do every day,” she added. “To see them do what they do to make sure we have opportunities as African Americans, to make sure our voices are heard and the visibility is in a positive light, and putting the proper narrative out there, so it is important for me to honor those who make sure our narrative is not misconstrued.”

This year’s honorees, who have shown excellence in their own realms of media and entertainment included, media personality Ryan Cameron, Publicist and CEO Ebony Porter-Ike, CEO and philanthropist, Ebony Austin, Editor-in-Chief Cynthia Horner, and Bernard Bronner, who took home the Media Trailblazer award.

The night ended with a collective performance from Dayvsnn, Final Draft, and Adreana, who performed a special rendition of ‘We are One,’ by Frankie Beverly.

12 views0 comments


bottom of page